WattShed.

WattShed Fit

Is this device ready for demand response? Check the standards, not the brochure.

Documented support for a standard like OpenADR 2.0b or a CTA-2045 port means a device is technically equipped to receive demand-response signals. It never means any specific program accepts it: enrollment is program-specific, decided by territory, tariffs, aggregators, and each program's own device list, none of which this check can see.

Pick the device category, then answer what you know: OpenADR 2.0b certification, a CTA-2045 port, the utility's meter interval, and, if you know it, the minimum load the device can curtail. The answers are yours, pulled from a spec sheet or a vendor. WattShed maintains no device database of its own, so leave anything unconfirmed and the read says so plainly rather than guessing on your behalf.

Everything runs in this browser tab. Nothing entered here is uploaded, checked against a real program, or stored anywhere.

1. Device

What device is this?

2. OpenADR 2.0b

Is it OpenADR 2.0b certified?

Check the product spec sheet or ask the vendor. The OpenADR Alliance also lists every certified product at openadr.org/products, so a device claiming certification should show up there by name.

3. CTA-2045 port

Does it have a CTA-2045 port?

Sometimes called an EcoPort. It is a physical socket on the unit, most common on electric storage water heaters, so many spec sheets picture it directly; the vendor can confirm if it does not.

4. Meter interval

How often does the meter report?

This is the account's meter interval, not the device. Check the utility's meter or usage page, or ask the utility directly; a program needs interval data finer than the DR event window to settle what a device actually curtailed.

5. Curtailable load (optional)

Minimum load it can curtail

From the spec sheet, if the device states one. Leave it blank if unknown; it is not required for a readiness read.

6. Result

Nothing confirmed yet

Nothing entered so far confirms a supported path. That does not mean the device lacks one, only that it has not been checked. Answer what you can on the left.

DR paths checked

PathStatusDetail
OpenADR 2.0b certified platformUnconfirmedOpenADR 2.0b VEN certification status was not reported for this device. ENERGY STAR's Connected Criteria (EPA, energystar.gov) require connected thermostats and other connected 'smart home' product categories to support demand response using named open communication standards. Per the current ENERGY STAR Connected Criteria for Partners page, acceptable application-layer protocols for the demand-response/grid-interoperability requirement include 'OpenADR 2.0, 2.0A, 2.0B' and 'CTA 2045A' (alongside SEP 2.x/1.x, ISO 15118, and OCPP for EV-adjacent use cases). This requirement is mandatory for a connected thermostat to certify as ENERGY STAR. Confirmed via a direct HTML fetch of energystar.gov's own Connected Criteria for Partners page, a primary-source read.
CTA-2045 communications portUnconfirmedCTA-2045 communications port status was not reported for this device. CTA-2045's documented device classes explicitly include smart thermostats, and ENERGY STAR's Connected Criteria also accept CTA-2045A for connected thermostats.

What to confirm

  • Confirm with the vendor whether this device supports the OpenADR 2.0b certified platform.
  • Confirm with the vendor whether this device supports the CTA-2045 communications port.
  • Confirm the AMI interval length (15 minutes, 30 minutes, 60 minutes (hourly)) the utility records for this device's meter; DR event-window savings cannot be settled without interval data finer than the event window.

Signals

PassMethod

Screened against published demand-response standards facts, verified 2026-08-21 (OpenADR 2.0b, the CTA-2045 family, AMI interval conventions, and ENERGY STAR connected criteria). Sources are listed in src/lib/fit/standards.ts (14 URLs).

PassWhat this does and does not confirm

Documenting support for one of these standards does not mean a device is accepted into, eligible for, or enrolled in any specific utility, aggregator, or VPP program. Program enrollment is governed separately by each program's own rules: territory and utility service area, incentive tariffs, metering and AMI availability, aggregator contracts, device-model allowlists, and DR event participation terms. None of that is determined by the communication standard alone.

FlagReadiness

Unconfirmed: nothing about this device's demand-response readiness could be confirmed from the facts provided.

A technical-capability read, computed only from what you entered above. It is not an enrollment decision for any specific program, and WattShed did not check this device against a real program's device list.

Related tools

Standards, briefly

Two named standards, each independently verified.

Facts last verified August 21, 2026, against each publisher's own site and, for the Washington mandate below, the state's own statute text.

OpenADR 2.0b (Profile B)

OpenADR Alliance, a nonprofit standards body with roots in Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory demand-response research.

An open, XML-based interface that lets a utility or grid operator send automated demand-response signals, price, capacity, and reliability events, to a device or building management system over the internet. Profile B is the full-service tier: the Alliance describes it as built for high-end embedded devices that can support most DR services and markets, with two-way reporting back to the sender.

Actively maintained and still certifiable today. OpenADR 3.0 exists alongside 2.0b and is not a replacement for it; the Alliance states the two specifications coexist. Only a device that has passed the Alliance's formal certification program, conformance and security testing plus membership, may claim "OpenADR Certified." Certified products are listed at openadr.org/products, the closest thing to an authoritative device list this check can point you to.

Sources

ANSI/CTA-2045, Modular Communications Interface for Energy Management

Consumer Technology Association (CTA), via its R7.8 subcommittee.

A physical port plus protocol, sometimes called the EcoPort, built into an appliance so a plug-in communications module can deliver demand-response commands (load up, shed, curtail) without the appliance maker writing its own network stack. It shows up most often on electric storage water heaters, and also on smart thermostats, central A/C and heat pumps, EV chargers, and pool pumps.

Two revisions exist, -A and a newer commercial revision, -B, which is backward-compatible with -A at the physical layer. Washington State requires electric storage water heaters sold, installed, or offered for lease in the state to carry a port compliant with the March 2018 version of ANSI/CTA-2045-A, effective January 1, 2021 (RCW 19.260.080).

Sources

ENERGY STAR's Connected Criteria separately name OpenADR 2.0/2.0A/2.0B and CTA-2045A as accepted demand-response protocols for a connected thermostat to qualify, confirmed directly against energystar.gov's own Connected Criteria for Partners page. That is a labeling requirement, not a program-enrollment rule, and it does not change the claim boundary above: a supported standard is a technical capability, checked here against what you entered, never an enrollment decision for any specific program.